Everyone has a tendency to install the applications they intend to use, then forget about them. However, even though you don’t use them anymore, these apps still take up storage space and use Internet bandwidth. To prevent them from doing that, Microsoft introduced the Archive App feature.
Here’s what you need to know about the Archive App feature in Windows 11.
What is the Archive App feature?
Archive App is a feature that automatically uninstalls apps you rarely use while keeping their associated files and settings intact. If you decide to reopen your archived apps, Windows will re-download them from the Microsoft Store, and you can continue using them.
Note: The Archive App feature only works on apps you’ve downloaded from the Microsoft Store.
Should the Archive App feature be turned on or off?
If you often install large applications or download too many programs and then forget about them, then the Archive App feature will be useful to you. That way, you don’t have to manually uninstall apps when trying to free up space on your computer.
However, there are cases where the archived app is no longer available on the Microsoft Store. That means you will lose apps that you may need in the future.
Now, let’s say you’re afraid you might lose your archived apps and aren’t particularly worried about them taking up space or using up Internet bandwidth. In that case, the article recommends turning off the Archive App feature.
How to enable/disable Archive App feature on Windows 11
You do not have to enable the Archive App feature in Windows 11, as it will be enabled by default. You can check this by right-clicking on Windows and selecting Apps & features from the list of options. Then, expand More settings.
Click on Archive apps, and you will see that Windows has set the toggle to On. You will also see the applications that the operating system has hosted here.
You can enable and disable the Archive app function at your choice by clicking this toggle.
Now, you know everything about the Archive app feature. You can enable or disable this feature according to your needs. These needs often revolve around the amount of storage and Internet bandwidth you’re trying to save. The final decision is entirely up to you.